A Departure into Theory

Yesterday I spent the day with the very-generous Sharon Gates and three other plein air painters in a one-day workshop. Sharon took us through various refresher concepts and exercises, and encouraged us at every turn. While we did mix colors and outline mass shapes from photographs, we also began to paint value-scale monochrome landscapes.

Landscape Study Oil on Board, 8" x 10" 17/30in30
Landscape Study
Oil on Board, 8″ x 10″
17/30in30

Here is mine at the point I left Sharon’s studio. I couldn’t stand leaving unused colors on my palette so I “threw” them out there for better or for worse. I’ll go back into it tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “A Departure into Theory”

Leave a Reply

