A Night to Remember

Free Spirits acrylic on tar paper, c. 9" x 11", 10/30in30, Q3
Free Spirits
acrylic on tar paper, c. 9″ x 11″, 10/30in30, Q3

This one’s alternate names are either DogBird or Allie & Jim.

Several months ago someone asked me what was my favorite kind of art, and I impulsively said, “Magic Realism.” I don’t know exactly why I said that, except that I do like to see recognizable things that are depicted from within. Then again, I love non-objective art, and conceptual art, and installation art, and regionalism, and religious art, and architecture, and clay, glass, wood and…the list goes on…anything that’s well-done.

But now comes this painting, the whole painting as well as this little segment from the upper right corner. It’s somehow a funny nod to the night Allie found Jim, a real moment of magic, to be sure.

1 thought on “A Night to Remember”

Leave a Reply

