Casting Asparagus

Painting Clay Today, 2015 Bisqued Porcleain, Amaco Underglazes
Painting Clay Today, 2015
Bisqued Porcleain, Amaco Underglazes

A punny old friend of mine used to say, “I don’t want to cast any asparagus here, but…” and of course I knew that the word ‘aspersions” had been exchanged for ‘asparagus.’ So when I began (literally) casting real asparagus for pieces like these, I thought she might get a giggle out of it. Meanwhile, I’m just loving this asparagus boat.

The leaf is on a specially commissioned plate.
Both pieces are now in the “bisque” stage. I’m painting them (and others) in preparation for the final firing.
Tomorrow will be full of glazing.

Leave a Reply

