Going Light

This summer found me visiting my beautiful half-sister, Brenda, on Block Island, RI. She is 91 and still quite vibrant. She paints watercolors every morning. While there I spent time painting with her, so this piece represents a memory of those few days.

Going Light, 2015 Watercolor on paper
Going Light, 2015
Watercolor on paper

There is so much to say about Brenda, and here is where I’ll start. Every time I see her, I deeply fear it may be the last. All I can do at the moment is savor those lovely days of late summer. The setting sun on the fields seems to illuminate all the plants and flowers from within.

Last Call, 2015 Photograph
Last Call, 2015
Photograph
2 thoughts on “Going Light”

  1. Very sweet drawing and wonderful photograph. I am glad you got to see Brenda and that she is still so vibrant. I’m hoping that your shared genetics will keep you enjoying life that many more years, too!!! xoxxo

Leave a Reply

