Bowl of Browns

Bowl of Browns, 2015 Porcelain and Underlaze
Bowl of Browns, 2015
Porcelain and Underglaze

I’m thinking of the dry hills of California.

I’m also thinking about my friend and fellow teacher and artist, Chris Greenman. We have a funny ongoing stylistic and aesthetic conversation. He solidly represents the Japanese tradition with Shino and Tenmoku glazes. His ceramic surfaces are subtly kissed by the magic of the flame, often specially marked by Anagama (hill climbing kiln) wood ash blessings. I also “came up” through those core ceramic values, and they ground me in my work ethic and philosophy of creativity.

 

Landscape in Shino, 2014 Ceramic Mug by Christopher Greenman
Landscape in Shino, 2014
Ceramic Mug by Christopher Greenman

Chris’s work makes me feel at home. Even as I write, I am enjoying my dark brown coffee from one of his golden brown shino mugs.

Those earth tones in relation to other earth tones are heartful. They hold a similar appeal to me as rocks and stones. They bring geological references that are nearly primordial.

But color. Ah, color. It is 2015. Science has perfected some mighty fine options, and I choose to explore them. Let the adventure continue.

Leave a Reply

