Color on Porcelain

Underwater Plate, 2015 Porcelain and underglaze 10
Underwater Plate, 2015
Porcelain and underglaze
10″ x 10″
(in process, 8/30)

It was when I began making functional ware like this that someone long ago told me, “You are really a painter.” I dismissed it then, and I barely believe it now. I’m an old artist, but a young painter.

For some reason, it is a lot easier for me to paint on a warped surface – otherwise I am entranced by traditional methods of painting on rectangles.

Someone also recently told me that if it isn’t on canvas, it isn’t painting. Well, gee, I did use a brush to apply pigment to a substrate. Is it or is it not painting?

Leave a Reply

