In Memorium: Antonio Frasconi (1919-2013)

Tonight I was looking online at my daughter’s coursework and saw that her Spanish class was studying the poetry of Pablo Neruda. The name Neruda reminded me of a wonderful teacher with whom I studied printmaking over two summers at UC Santa Barbara: Antonio Frasconi. A master printmaker, Frasconi illustrated many books, including editions of Neruda’s work. I thought I would look him up to see what he was doing these days. I discovered he passed away a week ago, on January 8, 2013. He was an inspiration to me and I will never forget him. Look him up.

Image

Leave a Reply

