Heart Felt

For me, teaching is an exercise in channeling. It is also an exercise in providing opportunity. I like to put out the materials and provide the briefest of instructions, and then let others work their own magic. So I did not paint the images in this post, but the painting happened through me. The first was yesterday – this is the first oil painting by my friend who told me it was a visual response to advice she had received: if you are overwhelmed by a giant wave of circumstances, you will “weather” it better if you put your whole self into it. Mold to it, roll with it.

Image

And then, this morning I painted watercolors with my 3-year-old friend, Daisy.

DaisyF painting

Besides being adorable, she showed a lovely sensitivity to the brush when mixing colors.

Leave a Reply

