My Inner Beginner

Image

I have been making and teaching art for a really long time, but mostly in ceramics and glass and other media. Painting is not exactly NEW to me, but I have decided to face that blank canvas.

I decided that my first “subject” will be one of my “Nines,” which is a piece of fused glass about 2″ x 2″ square. All Nines are roughly divided into 9 spaces, and I have been a little obsessed with making them for a couple years, but that’s another story.

What I have discovered today is that my Inner Beginner is a scaredy-cat procrastinator brat. IB (short for Inner Beginner) is so clever, she got me to change the bed and wash the sheets before I could begin to paint. She got me to cook lunch, and to shop for a couch I cannot afford and did not buy, and to cook black eyed peas for the New Year. She even decided I needed to enter receipts for 2012 into my financial records – she ran me around all day, basically getting me to do anything other than actually paint!

Inner Beginner and I are trying to work it out. I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “My Inner Beginner”

  1. Love it, Tara! I can’t wait to see the painting! IB has a relative at my house/studio. I go to the easel and she yells from the laundry room, “Better get in here and fold these clothes!” I go back to the easel and she yells, “Better check your email! You may have something important to attend to!” She’s a ‘you-know-what’!
    Happy New Year, my friend! May 2013 open many doors for you!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

